Hallstatt
HallstattUntil the end of the 19th century one could only access Hallstatt by boat or on the small pathways. The houses in the village were then as today, built close to the cliffs perched on the mountains between water; the only way to reach the houses were by boat or through the narrow pathways one the upper path overlooks the lake like a bridge over the roofs of the houses.  In 1890 a road was built along the west bank blasting away part of the bank to make it possible.

The tough conditions in the mountain area attracted settlers already in the Neolithic times due to the rich source of natural salt that had formed over thousands of years. The oldest find dates back 5000 BC. Stone grinders dating from the middle ages and later. In 1846 Johann George Ramsauer uncovered prehistoric graves with sensational archaeological finds amongst which the oldest iron smiths.

The salt trade created a wealth of the people in Hallstatt in ancient times. In the society and a cultural development which following the finds in the upper valley of the salt mine gave name to the Hallstatt culture from 800-400 BC making Hallstatt famous.

There is no documentation about the Roman period and early middle ages. In 1311, Hallstatt was granted the rights to be a market village a sign that the village had a meaning in the economic world. Since 1607 the Brine pip from Ebensee to Traunsee supplies salt.

Besides the winning of salt the picturesque beauty Hallstatt has to offer has charmed and attracted many a tourist since 1607.


Bräu-Gasthof in Hallstatt  |  A-4830 Hallstatt  |  phone 06134/8221  |  fax 06134/8221-4  |  info@brauhaus-lobisser.com